Great Medicine Week…

running water.jpg

What a week it has been! The guy that was supposed to come out to check out the property to make sure everything was ok, cleaned up, whatever, never showed up. It’s a little frustrating that he didn’t come, but things are rolling forward as normal so I can’t complain even a little bit. I don’t have to figure out how to move my family and where. Whew! Thank goodness!

We now have running water, again!! It was a long 6 months without it, buying bottled water in gallons (usually around 15 gallons every 4 -5 days), learning new ways to do things without running water, but we have it now and I can not begin to describe the level of joy this brings me. My gardens are at least as happy as I am, if not more so, though I’m finding it hard to believe that anyone or thing could be more excited about it than me.

I have been a water maven since the water was restored…watering the gardens, doing ALL of the dishes (I don’t want to talk about it), washing my car, with a list of other things I want to get done now that I have running water, again. Have I mentioned the level of joy it brings me?? Well, I think it stands to mention once more. I AM SO INCREDIBLY HAPPY ABOUT HAVING RUNNING WATER AGAIN THAT I THINK I MAY JUST EXPLODE!!

I entered a contest on Freelancer recently. It was a contest to come up with a creative name for a company that offers financial education through games, articles, etc. based in Australia. The prize is $60 Australian dollars. Well, it turns out I won. Woot!

It took me all of about 3 minutes to verify and submit my entry…it was just so obvious a choice for me. One of the things you had to do was make sure that the .com and .com.au were available for the name you submit. Both were available so I entered. I didn’t really think it would win, so I entered then left it alone. The contest holder had messaged me within 24 hours of my submission to let me know he was going to keep my idea on the short list. Cool, but I had looked at some of the top submissions and he had said similar things there. Whatever. He noticed, liked it, said so, awesome.

Then, yesterday, after realizing that my phone had decided to stop syncing my emails to my phone, I did a perusal of my email accounts to see if there was anything important that I had missed. Mostly spam, as expected, but then I noticed one from Freelancer saying something about a winning entry. I, of course, clicked immediately, trying to keep myself from getting excited because I had no idea if it was an email saying I had won or just one showing me who did. When I saw the email was telling me I had won, I couldn’t believe it. I went directly to Freelancer and signed the ‘hand over’ paperwork. Now, I wait for the winnings to be deposited into my account. Sure, it comes to about $45 US dollars, but $45 is $45, which I think is great money for about 3 minutes of work. Can you see my smile from there? It’s a big one.

So, what was my entry? The Coffee Can.

With what this company is offering on their website, financial smarts, the name just popped into my head. If you don’t know how the two things are connected, let me know in the comments and I’ll explain it. It’s pretty old style.

So, yeah, it has been a really great week. I wish I could say I found something to bring a steady stream of cash in, aka a job, but I haven’t. I’m entering more and more contests on Freelancer, but I can’t see just the contests being a full-time income. It’s more like something that would be bonus income if I were adding it to an actual income.

I’m giving more and more thought to writing that book, finally. Ok, I’ve been doing more than just thinking. I’ve sort of started a couple of ideas. My biggest road block, I think, is the fact that I have never done this before, have always been extremely shy about my writing, even when I was writing poems all the time when I was younger. Sure, people actually saw some of those before I shredded them all (yes, I do regret that now), but I didn’t have my whole self invested in them, either. They were just things that I wrote for reasons that escape me at this point, though I did receive very positive feedback from those that got to read them. I’ve thought about going back to poems, again, but…well, I don’t think I am that connected to my emotions anymore and they were definitely a driving force back then. Maybe. We shall see. I don’t know how to formally write poems, you know, the right meter and all that. I just write what’s going on in my heart. If I decide to walk down that road, again, I’ll be throwing the poems up on here for feedback.

Well, that’s it for me, right now. Have a great day, Everyone!!

About dragonflygypsyusa

Over-thinker with way too much availability to the internet to research whatever might come to mind, amateur photographer, dog enthusiast, learning every day, working on finding my undamaged self.
This entry was posted in Left foot, right foot, repeat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go ahead...I'm listening