Focusing on the Positive, A-Z; Day 1: Adaptability

sunflower_Univ_Ave05_10026

So, I have written about how I am going through a time where depression is ever-present in my life. I am having a really hard time managing it very well. I’m still doing my normal stuffs of work, home life, etc but I’m not finding much joy in it and I am not ok with that. I came to the decision last night, during a brief reprieve from the depression, that I needed to do more than just trying to manage it.

Lance and I had been listening to an affirmation meditation that uses each letter in the alphabet. I have decided that I am going to write a positive themed blog a day using the same method and see if this helps me with the depression. If nothing else, it will remind me every day, for today and the next 25 days, that I always have something I am grateful for about myself.

Adaptability

The Merriam-Webster dictionary definition of adaptable is:

able to change or be changed in order to fit or work better in some situation or for some purpose : able to adapt or be adapted

I am adaptable. If there is nothing else in this world that I have learned along this path I have been on is to adapt to life as it comes around. Left foot, right foot, repeat. What is the next indicated step? How do I proceed from here? What is needed to best handle this situation? Though the end results may not always be what was intended, I have managed to move my family forward or, at the very least, keep them alive. I fill the need(s), whatever that may be, to the best of my ability. It isn’t always flawless, it isn’t always smooth, but we get there.

Every great and deep difficulty bears in itself its own solution. It forces us to change our thinking in order to find it.
Niels Bohr

This quote says to me that one is never stuck (something I’ve been feeling lately). The solution is findable if you keep an open mind to the possibilities and are willing to adapt as necessary. No problem is ever a permanent thing as long as you never act like a statue observing it. Got it.

About dragonflygypsyusa

Over-thinker with way too much availability to the internet to research whatever might come to mind, amateur photographer, dog enthusiast, learning every day, working on finding my undamaged self.
This entry was posted in Focusing on the Positive and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Focusing on the Positive, A-Z; Day 1: Adaptability

  1. I hear ya. I’ve fought depression a few times over the years. I’ve used zoloft before to help. (It did help.) I’ve used ambien to help. (That helped too.) Right now I’m doing okay without any of it. I hope things get better for you soon.

    Like

Go ahead...I'm listening