Sunflower Rescue, My Fireworks Display, Orthopedic Flip-Flops….

Wow! Its been a few days or so since my last post. I can’t get over how life can just take over and help time slip past at lightning speed. It’s not that anything really noteworthy has gone on, I just…I don’t know. I guess I’ve been too much in my head.

Downed Sunflower

Downed Sunflower

I came home the other day from work and this poor guy was falling out of his 5-gallon bucket. Of course, it was a 90+ degree day, so I figured he was done for. Despite this, I quickly scooped him up, and the dirt around his roots, and popped him in a pot with more dirt. I soaked the soil with water and SuperThrive, hoping that maybe, just maybe, he would survive. A little while later, his leaves were picking back up and by the next morning, he was looking as healthy as ever. I decided to put him in the ground by my other sunflowers to see how he did. When I came home, he looked all but dead. I scoop him up, again, popped him back in a pot, saturated that soil, and hoped. It wasn’t long before the leaves started to lift up again. Here is what he looks like today.

Amazingly Resilient Sunflower

Amazingly Resilient Sunflower

I’m going to wait a week or so before trying to replant him. The fact that he has come back from the brink of death twice leaves me not wanting to risk throwing him back out in the 90 degree weather direct sunlight. We aren’t expected to get out of the 90’s until Thursday, when we drop to the upper 80’s. I’ll reassess this guy then and decide how to proceed from there. Fingers are crossed.

I spent some time with my best friend last night at her  house. No 4th of July plans, really. The kids are grown so fireworks just aren’t such a big deal to me anymore. Besides, everything here is so dry, the idea of adding fireworks to the mix just didn’t sound like a good plan. Apparently, other people didn’t agree with my thought on it. The fireworks were going off around us for half the night. The dogs did ok, except for Luna, who hid under the bed and tried to find even better hiding spots to be safe in. When I came home from my best friend’s house, the boys and Luna finally passed out. I guess they just needed both of their parents home.

Here is what my fireworks display looked like:

Autumn Beauty starting to open

Autumn Beauty starting to open

Another Sunflower showing off

Another Sunflower showing off

Beautiful Chianti Bloom

Beautiful Chianti Bloom

Bright as the Sun

Bright as the Sun

These four did their magic all yesterday. They are even more beautiful today. The best things about these fireworks is that they last much longer, aren’t a fire hazard, and leave no mess behind. Perfect!

Things have been going well at the chiropractor. My ankle, feet, neck, and back aren’t giving me as much pain as they were, which is awesome. The chiropractor told me I need to be wearing shoes with arch support and minimal heal, about a quarter-inch.

I have to admit that the idea of putting my feet into shoes during the summertime just isn’t something I want to do, even a little bit. So, what do I do? I hop on Google and search for orthopedic flip-flops. Guess what! There is such a thing! There are, in fact, quite a few choices to make in that category. I ended up ordering a pair from The Healthy Feet store online and they should be here around Friday. Yay!

Well, it feels like a lazy Sunday to me so I think I am going to go find out how I be lazy the best today. Have a great day out there everyone!!

About dragonflygypsyusa

Over-thinker with way too much availability to the internet to research whatever might come to mind, amateur photographer, dog enthusiast, learning every day, working on finding my undamaged self.
This entry was posted in Left foot, right foot, repeat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go ahead...I'm listening

