Lance is Off to Arizona, Freestar Update…

 

Tomorrow, my husband leaves for Arizona for 3-4 weeks. I am going to miss him a lot, and that is compounded by the fact that he is going to be taking Achilles with him. My heart is just heavy. I’ve never been away from my pups, Achilles and Enzo, for any length of time since they were born almost 5 years ago. Separation anxiety? Well, yeah, a bit.

Lance’s parents are buying him new teeth. We both have horrible teeth from running through life with an imaginary invincibility cape that not only blocked a lot of self-care but took away the feeling of passing time,as well. Yes, depression has factored in to the lot, as well. At any rate, they found a dentist down by them that doesn’t charge as much as a rehab house to give him new teeth.

I’m super excited for him, and to see his new teeth when he gets home, but I have to admit that I am a bit jealous. I guess that is something that I am just going to have to make a plan for, which I had planned on figuring out for the both of us, anyway. I’ll figure it out, eventually. The fact that at least one of us is getting teeth is really great and I’m so happy for my husband.

Now, about LanceĀ taking Achilles with him. I am anxious about it for so many different reasons. One of those reasons happens to be that he is going to drive down so that he has a way to get out and do things while he is there and he wants to stop by to visit one of his sisters. She lives in Ashland, OR, so it’s basically on the way down. I get his desire to do so and I guess maybe I’m a bit jealous over this point, as well. I’d love to go drive around the US and visit with my family. Thankfully, for him, his family isn’t too far away to get to.

Lance driving down causes me some anxiety for a number of reasons, the biggest being the car he is driving down. I’m not sure I trust it for that kind of drive. He is certain it will be just fine and I should be good with that since he is the one that drives the car so, hypothetically, knows how it’s doing, but it doesn’t lessen my anxiety at all. He’s driving a 98 Saturn SL-1 that burns oil and has a couple of other things going on with it. My fingers are going to be crossed to the point of hurting until I know he has made it to his parents’ house.

Another thing that causes me anxiety about Lance taking Achilles with him is that my Mr. Achilles is a nervous Nelly, super not sure of people he doesn’t know and unknown situations. He is going to need a lot of extra attention paid to how he is reacting to all of the new things and people he is going to encounter on this trip and Lance just isn’t as observant as I am. Lance also tends to be a bit more aggressive in his corrections than I am, or that I am comfortable with. I have determined that Achilles does so much better with positive reinforcement and gentle guidance rather than strict enforcement and corrections.

Maybe I am just freaking out because it will all be out of my control. I’m willing to admit that this is probably half of the reason its causing me angst. I’m in charge of pretty much everything around here, something Lance has willingly allowed me to do. I’m not saying it is necessarily a bad thing, completely, but it may not be such a great thing, either. I guess I am just going to have to figure out how to let go on this one. Maybe it will teach me to let go on a bunch of other things that don’t necessarily need me to death grip them.

I haven’t been working on the van over the past week. Funding is at the low end as we approach my next pay day so I’m holding off. My next steps, as I mentioned in my post about the van, are to check out the fuel injectors and replace the intake manifold gasket. Since one or both (probably both) are more than likely going to need parts to complete, I don’t want to open up the engine (remove the intake manifold) and leave it open until I have everything to close it back up, again – no moisture or dust getting inside the engine.

If the fuel injectors and the intake manifold don’t fix the problem, my guess is that I’m going to have to look into having the catalytic converter replaced. This is most definitely beyond my abilities so I’ll be pricing that out. I don’t weld nor do I have any desire to learn how to. I’m just hoping that cleaning the fuel injectors, replacing their o-rings, and replacing the intake manifold gasket fix the issue. Wish me luck!!

About dragonflygypsyusa

Over-thinker with way too much availability to the internet to research whatever might come to mind, amateur photographer, dog enthusiast, learning every day, working on finding my undamaged self.
This entry was posted in Left foot, right foot, repeat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lance is Off to Arizona, Freestar Update…

  1. dad says:

    Good luck to Vance and his trip and I am sure you will be be fine with his short absence. Love Dad

    Liked by 1 person

Go ahead...I'm listening

