Back to Uber, Figuring it Out, and the Garden…

Painted Daisy - maybe today!!

Painted Daisy – maybe today!!

So, I started driving for Uber, again, last Friday. I had planned on going out and driving on the night of Cinco de Mayo, but I didn’t. I ended up getting my license, hitting the car wash and thoroughly washing the Prius, then heading out to just see where I ended up. I didn’t make it back home until around 8:30 that night. It was a good day.

I headed out the next morning to Uber drive, but that didn’t last very long. Every time I tried to accept a ride request, the Uber Partner app would get stuck in a thinking circle saying “accepting ride,” and not go any further. I would have to shut down the app and restart it in order to find out where my ride was at. The Uber Partner app wouldn’t link up to either of the navigation apps (Waze or Google Maps), so I would have to pull over and manually enter the address. Frustrating but manageable. Then, when I would end a ride, the app would get stuck with a thinking circle, again, saying “ending ride,” and go no further. Shut down app, restart it, and then it would end the ride. Again, extremely frustrating.

Usually, if the Uber Partner app is getting glitchy, all you have to do is uninstall it and reinstall it, again, and all is well. Not this time. I uninstalled and reinstalled the app twice with absolutely no improvement. Ugh. Not good. After only being able to accept and complete only two rides in almost two hours due to the problem, I realized the problem had to be with my phone.

The replacement G4 Tmobile sent me had issues from the beginning, but nothing that was super problematic and nothing I couldn’t just deal with for now. The fact that I was having issues with the Uber Partner app was unacceptable. Thankfully, Costco has a deal going on right now on a Samsung Galaxy S7.

The deal at Costco is unbelievably awesome! You get the Samsung Galaxy S7, a 32″ Samsung Television, a portable battery, and $40 in a Costco Cash rebate for the cost of the tax on the phone and tv.   O.O   I added a phone case with a glass screen protector for another $25, bringing the total up to $106 at check out. This deal couldn’t have come at a better time for me, honestly. By the time I made it out of Costco with my phone and the tv, I was exhausted. It took forever to accomplish this one thing since this deal is amazing and a lot of people are taking advantage of it. I headed home to set up my phone.

I went out and drove for Uber the next morning and did ok. The app worked exactly the way it is supposed to. Another problem solved…YAY! I’m hoping I have reached the end of this series of challenges.

After driving on Saturday for a few hours, the feeling of not wanting to drive for Uber anymore was really intense. I’m trying to decide if this feeling is just a result of not being able to do so for a couple of weeks so this is sort of like starting all over, again, or if it is a result of having to struggle through these challenges and finally being honest with myself that Uber is not going to be something I can do long-term. Maybe the post-chaos processing is leaving me with a bad taste in my mouth in regard to Uber, despite Uber not having a single thing to do with it. There is a bit I need to figure out here, and soon. I’m staying home today to try to get my head wrapped around all of this so I can make some decisions. Like I said before, I will continue to drive for Uber regardless of the decisions I make about it, at least until I can replace that source of income, should I decide Uber just isn’t the right choice. I’m giving it time, though. No blind jumping.

My garden is coming along nicely. I am losing a pumpkin plant and I’m not sure why. It was laying on its side yesterday, roots still in the ground and covered, still looking healthy. I stood it up and re-packed dirt around its base, but it was back on its side this morning. Disappointing, yes, but I have another one I put in its place and try again.

One of my Columbine plants has started having blooms in a few different colors. Its kind of

Yellow, PInk, and Light Purple, all on one plant!!

Yellow, PInk, and Light Purple, all on one plant!!

pretty, but I have to admit it makes me wonder what is going on in my soil. I’m pretty sure that Columbines don’t change color due to soil content, which I feel is backed by the fact that the Columbines on either side of this one are still true to their original colors. Hmmm…guess I’ll have to do some research on that one. It still looks healthy so I’m really not sure at all what is going on there.

Well, I’ve got a busy day planned for myself, mostly full of research – work, plants – so I’d better get to it. Have a great day, Everyone!

About dragonflygypsyusa

Over-thinker with way too much availability to the internet to research whatever might come to mind, amateur photographer, dog enthusiast, learning every day, working on finding my undamaged self.
This entry was posted in Left foot, right foot, repeat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go ahead...I'm listening

