Preparing to Research Starting a Pet-Based Business…

I’ve been having the idea of starting a petting sitting and/or dog walking business. Its something that has been stewing, in the background, for about the last year or so, though I’ve done absolutely no research on it until this morning, and that was limited to searching on Amazon for books on starting a pet-based business. I think I am just tip-toeing up to the real idea of what starting this type of business looks like.

My husband and I have discussed starting a couple of businesses over the last few years, businesses that are based on some of our strongest skills, such as handy man type things, landscaping, cleaning. I have steadfastly refused to move forward with any of the ideas, for a number of reasons. Mostly, I just don’t think we hit on one that made me think “Yep. That’s the one. We could make that work out really nicely.”

Then there is the cost of starting a business, plus having to work out of my current job, meaning income could get a bit sideways for a bit. This, of course, causes me some real angst. We have spent a lot of the past  years wondering where the money to just stay alive, fed, was going to come from, and I have that part covered, now. The idea of having to go back to that lack of security causes every fiber of my being to dig in its heels and refuse to move forward, moderately panicked at the prospect. Ok. Maybe a little more than moderately panicked.

I have had my current job for a year and a half now. I’ve stabilized our situation, mostly, but I’ve reached the point where I really want my income to do more than just stabilize us. I want it to really move us forward. I’d also like the way I create my income to be doing something I love, or, at least, like. Anyone that reads my blog regularly knows that, despite being really good at it, cleaning is not something I enjoy, even a little bit. But I love animals, dogs especially.

Back when I was a kid, long before I started screwing up life, I wanted to be a vet with every fiber of my being. In my mind, it wasn’t a matter of becoming a vet being a possibility, it was a fact, where I was going and what I was going to do. It would be my life, and I was excited to get there.

Then, pre-teen years came along and I lost my mind, I think, and never really got out of that until my late 30’s. So much time lost, so many opportunities passed up. By the time I went to college and earned my degree in Criminal Justice, I had completely lost my connection with that little girl that was so certain of her path, evidenced by the direction I chose for college. Now, I feel like starting on the path toward a veterinarian career is one that is a little late to be getting started on.

I’ve considered taking classes to become a vet tech, but I can’t honestly say that I have felt really compelled to follow through on it. I’m not sure why that is. The idea doesn’t really set my soul to dancing. This is one place where pet sitting and dog walking come in.

So, I’m giving it some thought, allowing myself to wrap my head around the specifics, gathering info in regard to how to bring the idea into reality. This, of course, requires some research, which I am starting now by ordering a couple of books on the subject from Amazon and scouring the web for what info I can glean from there. I bet I could figure in photography somewhere in there, too.

About dragonflygypsyusa

Over-thinker with way too much availability to the internet to research whatever might come to mind, amateur photographer, dog enthusiast, learning every day, working on finding my undamaged self.
This entry was posted in Left foot, right foot, repeat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Preparing to Research Starting a Pet-Based Business…

  1. Dad says:

    We use a pet sitter when we go out of town. This lady cleans homes in our general area and was recommended to us. She came in the morning on her way to her house cleaning jobs to let Oliver out and make sure he had water. She would return at noon to feed him and let him out. After work she would come back to let Oliver out and give him a little walk; 15 or 20 minutes. The plan was she could stay over at night or come back later in the evening to let the dog out again. She stayed over night in our guest room. We paid her $30 a day which is less expensive than the boarding kennel. We we gone for 8 days and this worked really well for us. love. Dad

    Like

    • Thanks, Dad!! That really helps me start to get an idea of part of the business, a very important part. Knowing that the house sitter you used is a cleaner, too, helps me see how I work this in around my current work. Again, thank you so much for that. I really do need to have the whole picture, or at least as much of it as I can put together without the hands-0n part, before I will feel comfortable moving forward.
      I love you, Dad!

      Like

Go ahead...I'm listening

