Wildfire Devastation in Eastern Washington…

Firefighters work to dig a fire line

Firefighters work to dig a fire line

The air is a bit less smoky over here this morning. Yesterday, we experienced a day long haze that was somewhat disturbing, especially when you consider how far away all of the wildfires are burning and that there is a significant mountain range between us and the fires. The smell was very light but the visual was a constant reminder of the devastation occurring for so many on other side of the state.

One can’t help but want to help in some way. My husband feels drawn to cross the mountains and go volunteer. My mind circles around the fact that so many are losing their homes, the annihilation of forests, the amount of wildlife destroyed, the people who will never quite be the same. My soul aches for them all and it leaves me feeling helpless. What do I have to offer these people in their time of trauma? It seems somewhat inadequate but all I have is my sincere desire for the wildfires to be extinguished, quickly, and the healing to begin.

Part of me would like to start a clothing, bedding, and food drive to collect the basic necessities for those that have lost so much. I have no idea how to go about doing something like that. Perhaps that is something I should research when I get home from work today. I want to do something more than just pray for these people. I’ll post any info I find on here later today or tomorrow morning so anyone that may want to help can. Until then, please pray for those that are dealing with so much, that the fire fighters begin to win this battle, that the deaths remain as low as possible, and that the recovery is swift.

About dragonflygypsyusa

Over-thinker with way too much availability to the internet to research whatever might come to mind, amateur photographer, dog enthusiast, learning every day, working on finding my undamaged self.
This entry was posted in Left foot, right foot, repeat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go ahead...I'm listening

