A “Trip” through Downtown Tacoma…

I have a clean today that is on the backside of where the kids’ dad had a vintage collectibles shop. Its kind of weird to be going down to antique row. I am never there anymore, and it used to be such a huge part of my life.

Part of me thinks I’ll wander antique row when I get done with the clean, which shouldn’t take too long, but another part of me sees no point in doing so. It’s not like the same people are there or that it is any part of my life anymore. The only person I know is probably still there is Alan from Sanford and Son Antiques, though I doubt I would actually run into him. In reality, for all I know, he has passed away already. I really don’t know.

Its been around 17 years since antique row was a part of my life. My son was less than a year old and my daughter was 6 years old. It was a little community there, almost like extended family. During the summer time, a lot of the antique dealers (including the kid’s dad and myself) would gather outside of Sanford and Son for dinner, whether we all went and got our own thing or it was the occasional barbecue. I get the feeling that no longer happens, along with the other type of informal gatherings that used to happen.

Its sort of odd to think back to those days and know that things aren’t the same. It almost feels like remembering a family you used to be a part of that no longer even exists. Yeah, I have a hard time letting go of people, and of eras of my life, sometimes.

Anyway, maybe I’ll just wander around downtown Tacoma for a little bit after my clean, do some time traveling. I’ll see if I feel up to it when I’m done. That said, I had better get going. Have a great day everyone!!!

About dragonflygypsyusa

Over-thinker with way too much availability to the internet to research whatever might come to mind, amateur photographer, dog enthusiast, learning every day, working on finding my undamaged self.
This entry was posted in Left foot, right foot, repeat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go ahead...I'm listening

