Getting the Garden Going…

I cleared most of the way around the stump yesterday. I had a pic to add above, but WordPress is apparently experiencing some issues with that. Anyway, I want to plant my butterfly garden here but I am going to have to test the soil, first. Two of the three plants in my butterfly garden mix do well with acidic soil but one is less than tolerant with it. Mildly acidic, rather close to neutral, is fine but I have a feeling the soil is much more acidic than that. I did get the tulips to bloom, most of them, and some wildflower seeds I tossed out there last year sprouted and bloomed, though they were a bit stunted and some didn’t come up at all.

Amendments and some topsoil are going to need to happen there, but that is going to have to wait until next payday, which is frustrating. I’m anxious to get things in the ground and growing. A number of my seedlings are big enough to be planted, also. In fact, quite a few are big enough that it is time to plant them before they become unhappy with just their seed pods.

I don’t know why I have been soooo impatient with getting a garden going this year. Maybe it has to do with a lot of the stress that we have had to trudge through. I’m just really needing the pretty. Or, maybe, it’s because, with work, I don’t feel like I’m doing much of anything to feed my soul and I know having plants that need my attention fills my soul to the very top. I love watching things grow, especially things I have planted myself.

But I have the process started. Its happening. I just have to remind myself that summer will not pass me by this year. I have time. It’s all going to happen.

Have a great day, Everyone!!!

About dragonflygypsyusa

Over-thinker with way too much availability to the internet to research whatever might come to mind, amateur photographer, dog enthusiast, learning every day, working on finding my undamaged self.
This entry was posted in Left foot and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go ahead...I'm listening

