Clary Sage…

I lost a follower over night. It always makes me sad when I see that in my stats. Part of me starts to wonder what I did wrong, said that offended, or, the real doozy, if what I’m writing is nothing anyone want to read. Yes, there are some self-esteem issues when it comes to my writing. Part of me knows that it is just the normal fluctuation, people will come and go, but it still bothers me. Another thing I’ve noticed is that over the last week, I have had no foreign countries in my viewing count. I’m not sure what this all means, but, well, let’s just say I don’t like it.

Anyway, on with Clary Sage.

clary sage image @ fullcircleseeds.com

clary sage image @ fullcircleseeds.com

Clary sage is one herb I have wanted to try to grow for years now. I haven’t tried because I haven’t done the proper research to see if it is even a possibility to try it here. I’ll know by the end of this post, though! 🙂

From the very first time I smelled Clary Sage essential oil, I was in love. I have done some research over the years about the properties of the essential oil and its uses, but not the growing patterns and requirements. I just hadn’t gotten there, yet. I love that I had the dream about having a herb farm because it has given me the nudging I needed to look further into a number of the herbs that have intrigued me over the years.

According to Plant Maps (www.plantmaps.com), I live in USDA hardiness zone 8a and PlantMaps Hardiness zone 7b. Clary Sage has a USDA hardiness rating for zones 5a-9b. YAY! This means I can try growing this myself! In its first year of growth, Clary Sage produces a rosette and doesn’t flower until its second year. I wish that wasn’t the case because I love seeing my plants flower, but I can wait. I’m waiting to see if the Holly Hocks I started from seeds last year will flower this year. I’m learning patience.

The parts of the Clary Sage herb that are used, medicinally and therapeutically, are the dried leaves, flowers, and essential oil. Essential oil is acquired from the plant through steam distillation of the flowering tops and leaves. The leaves, fresh and/or dried, can be used the same way as garden sage for culinary purposes, and is an interesting addition to breads and stuffing. A tea made from the leaves may be used as an eye wash, gargle, and/or used to pour over wounds to cleanse them as Clary sage has astringent properties. The seeds, soaked in water for a few minutes, can be placed in the eye to aid in the removal of small debris. Adding the leaves, dried or fresh, or the essential oil to the bath helps with depression, anxiety, muscle spasms, menstrual problems, PMS, and insomnia.

Placing a few drops of the Clary Sage essential oil into an oil burner/diffuser also helps with depression, anxiety, menopausal symptoms, stress, and insomnia. It is also said to provide more vivid dreams, or at least help with dream recall, and can help with boosting one’s creativity and intuition. Used in lotion, it can help with skin irritations and with balancing particularly oil areas of the skin.

Is there any wonder my love for this essential oil? It is such an all-purpose feel good oil with a warm, centering scent. I can’t wait to see this growing in my garden this summer, and, especially, next summer when it will have flowers.

Tomorrow: Lavender

 

About dragonflygypsyusa

Over-thinker with way too much availability to the internet to research whatever might come to mind, amateur photographer, dog enthusiast, learning every day, working on finding my undamaged self.
This entry was posted in Herbs! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go ahead...I'm listening

