War of the Worldviews, Earth, The End of Faith, and Snow…

I’ve been listening to War of the Worldviews: Spirituality vs. Science by Deepak Chopra and Leonard Mlodinow. Deepak Chopra is often referred to as a “controversial new-age guru” and promotes spirituality and meditation as health benefits. Leonard Mlodinow is a mathematical physicist, author, and screenwriter. The book is set up like a debate, where one can address the information provided by the other. I am finding the book very interesting and quite enjoyable. One of the things that I am really appreciating about the book is that both authors are clear throughout the debate-style presentation that religion is a different topic than the one they are discussing, though there are definitely references made.

Before listening to this book, I listened to The Daily Show with John Stewart presents Earth (The Book): A Visitor’s Guide to the Human Race by John Stewart. This book takes a look at where we come from, accomplishments of our species, the way we live, etc. from a silly point of view. Some of what is presented is given in such a funny honesty that I find myself laughing out loud with the truth of it. Very enjoyable and a nice break from the strictly learning type books I have been more drawn to at the present time. I would recommend this one to anyone looking for an enjoyable, fun book and the chance to laugh at the goofiness that is being human.

The End of Faith: Religion, Terror, and the Future of Reason by Sam Harris is what I tried to listen to before Earth. Though the author says a lot of things that have to make you think about your own religious beliefs, about religion in politics, and some of the less attractive acts of religion in the past, I found myself reluctant to complete the book. I don’t necessarily disagree with some of what he is saying, but it felt more like a bashing than just an objective presentation of facts with prompting to come to your own conclusions.

Ok. I have to stop with that to report that it has just started snowing here. I remember the days when the first snow was something that excited me. This is not the case, anymore. The flakes are large and fluffy and coming down pretty good. The temp is currently 34 degrees, so this could last a minute.

snowing

snowing

its sticking

 

Lance is out on the walk with the dogs right now. I’ll bet the puppies are loving the snow. Well, except for Luna. She does not like the cold any more than I do, and who could blame her with her thin, single coat of fur. Achilles also has a thin, single coat of fur, but he loves to play so snow is just another opportunity for that.

I’m going inside so I can pretend it’s not snowing. Maybe it will turn to rain while I’m inside.

 

 

 

 

 

About dragonflygypsyusa

Over-thinker with way too much availability to the internet to research whatever might come to mind, amateur photographer, dog enthusiast, learning every day, working on finding my undamaged self.
This entry was posted in Left foot, right foot, repeat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go ahead...I'm listening

