Another Focusing on the Positive series, Thanksgiving Plans, Childlike…

I’m thinking I need to do another Focusing on the Positive series, or something like that. It may improve my overall mood. I really enjoyed doing the last one and a few of the FotP posts get hits daily, so apparently some of you out there have enjoyed the series, too. I don’t want to do it exactly as I did before, so it is going to be a minute or two before I start another Focusing on the Positive series. I have to figure out the format I want to use. Definitely open to suggestions.

The flood warning is still in effect and has been extended until Friday. I, obviously, made it to all my destinations and home, again, yesterday without incident. I didn’t have to deal with any of the rush hour traffic as I left home after the morning round and didn’t get done with the clean until just after 7pm so, thankfully, missed the evening round.

I hate getting home so late. I feel like I am not being a good dog parent when I do. They spend so much time on their own. When we are leaving in the morning, the dogs have been giving us the sad puppy eyes and Enzo has taken to trying to just follow us out the door/gate. I long for a perfect world.

It is going to be just Lance and me for Thanksgiving. My kids have made their plans. As I said yesterday, my daughter is spending the holiday with her boyfriend. My son has made plans with one of his other sisters to go spend time with that side of the family. We have a small turkey which we will cook but I don’t see Lance and I making it into a full-out Thanksgiving dinner.

Sometimes, I miss the holidays of my childhood. We would go to my maternal grandparents. My mom is one of four children, so it was a large gathering: aunts, uncles, cousins, etc. Those holidays were a lot of fun. I guess, maybe I’m just missing that family connection.

I have spent a good portion of my life keeping my family, the ones I grew up with, at arm’s length. I was screwing up my life, whether or not I realized it at the time, and didn’t want anyone telling me just how I should be living my life, what I should be doing that I wasn’t. I wouldn’t have been able to recognize the advice for what it was: love and caring.

It doesn’t help that I am absolutely horrible at keeping in touch. I mean to, I really do, but I get busy, whether its life busy or mind busy, and the next thing  I know, its been months since I have thought of getting in touch with any of my family, though I have thought about them many times. I know that keeping in touch is a two-way street but I can’t expect my family to walk up to a door that I have kept closed for so long. Besides, most of the time I am so busy I don’t really have the time to talk should anyone call.

I wish I lived closer, but I can’t honestly say that would provide any extra reconnection time. My best friend of over 25 years lives about half an hour away and we never see each other. Sometimes, I just wish I was a little kid, again, and could crawl up on the laps of my parents and just rest in that pure protection and love only a parent can provide.

About dragonflygypsyusa

Over-thinker with way too much availability to the internet to research whatever might come to mind, amateur photographer, dog enthusiast, learning every day, working on finding my undamaged self.
This entry was posted in Left foot, right foot, repeat and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Focusing on the Positive series, Thanksgiving Plans, Childlike…

  1. Dad says:

    It would be great if you lived closer but rest asured you are loved and missed. You and Lance enjoy your Thanksgiving. Love Dad

    Like

Go ahead...I'm listening

