Heavy Rain, Drivers Around Here, Be Safe Out There…

Well, I’m draggin’ butt today. I really have no desire to head out and drive in the heavy rain that is coming down today. There is a flood warning in effect, which means the roads are going to be water-logged.

You would think that the people of the Greater Seattle area would be pretty good at driving in the rain since we have so much of it, but I can attest, after almost 25 years of living here, that isn’t the case. There is bound to be quite a few accidents out there today and I really am hoping, and praying, that I am not included in one of them. Sigh. It is a fear for me.

Accidents are horrible (duh). If everyone that got behind the wheel of their car around here with the notion that heavy rains mean to slow it down a bit, be a bit more cautious and aware, pay more attention to where the cars around you are and the small lakes that form on the roadway, I wouldn’t be so…worried about driving in the rain. unfortunately, this isn’t how it goes. Way too many get in their car and head out like there is no rain happening at all, despite their windshield wipers going at high speed.

One of the things that amazes me is that most of the vehicles that I see driving at high speeds and weaving through the more cautious drivers tend to be smaller cars, the ones most likely to hydroplane. Its times like these that I think everyone should be required to take a personality test to determine the best vehicle for them to drive in every type of weather. If these little peppy-go-getter drivers were pushed into a bigger vehicle, maybe it would decrease the number of accidents on the road by at least a little. Then, again, maybe their personality test would show that they probably shouldn’t EVER be behind the wheel of a car. Yeah, I’m judging a bit. I guess I just don’t understand why anyone would want to take such chances with not only their own life but the life of those around them, while sitting inside something that has been known to kill way too many.

I know this may make me sound like a nervous driver, and I guess, at times, I sort of am. I wouldn’t say that I am one of the over-cautious drivers that can be as much of a hazard as the speed demons. I think I fall somewhere in the middle. I drive according to weather conditions, know how my vehicle is going to react to different conditions, am educated on what to do should my vehicle happen to start to hydroplane, and try to always be aware of an escape route should there be the need to get out of the way of another driver.

Whenever I see another vehicle flying through the road lakes, I always have a few different thoughts that run through my mind, simultaneously. The first is “idiot.” I know, completely spiritual thinking there. The second thought is that I hope they don’t cause an accident or get in one. The third is always that I am grateful I am nowhere near them and that they are moving further away.

I have some driving to do today. My clean is about 15 miles away, I have to drop my daughter at the transit center in downtown Puyallup (12 miles away from home, in the opposite direction of my clean) because she is going to her boyfriend’s place for Thanksgiving, and, then, there is always the drive back home. I am hoping to finish the clean before rush hour traffic gets started this afternoon and there are way too many people on the roads and freeways.

For all of those in this area that are planning to drive today, be careful out there. Make it to your destinations, safely. For everyone else dealing with your own weather traps, I hope you make it to your destinations safely, as well. May everyone’s day end with no bad having happened.

About dragonflygypsyusa

Over-thinker with way too much availability to the internet to research whatever might come to mind, amateur photographer, dog enthusiast, learning every day, working on finding my undamaged self.
This entry was posted in Left foot, right foot, repeat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go ahead...I'm listening

