Blogging Ice Sculpture, The Modern Scholar, and a Christmas Wish…

Oh my goodness!! Its cold this morning! The current temperature is 28 degrees and our projected high for today is 46 degrees (noaa.gov). I have jammy pants, insulated Carhart bibs, socks, slippers, tank top, t-shirt, sweatshirt (with hood), and thick, terry cloth robe on. My little fingers are freezing. I am going to need to buy some gloves for my morning blog sessions.

The grass looks lightly flocked and crystaly, and there is almost the need to hold my breath in order to better see my computer screen. The tip of my nose has already gotten cold and I can feel the icy fingers of cold working their way through the layers I have applied for warmth. This may prove to be a short post. I really need to figure out a way to warm my area of the desk if for no other reason than to save myself from becoming a blogging ice sculpture.

Why is it when your nose gets cold, it starts to run? This makes no sense to me at all. Have I mentioned I don’t really like the cold at all???

I’ve been dreaming of living someplace much warmer than the Pacific Northwest for the last few years. During the summer, when the cold is a distant memory and I’m basking in the warmth of the sun, I become as content as a cat napping in a ray of sunlight. My mind betrays me by only giving me the nicest memories of the wintertime, lulling me into believing the winters aren’t that bad here, and, in reality, they are usually quite mild in comparison to the midwest winters I grew up in.

I would like to move to somewhere where the winters are even milder than here. If 50 degrees, or even 40 degrees, were the winter lows, I think I could deal with that. The main problem with this plan is trying to find a place with that kind of winter and the visual beauty I’m encased with here. Ok. And figuring out how I would even begin to make the move happen. For now, I guess I’ll just have to continue to add more layers, a hat, and a good pair of gloves that still allow me to feel the keys underneath my fingers.

I started re-listening to Religion, Myth, and Magic yesterday. I’m just over half-way through the lecture series. I’m really glad I decided to listen to it, again. With the number of “new” things I have heard this time listening to it, I have come to the realization that I am going to want to listen to it a number of times to really get all of it, though I’ll write my review of it after finishing the series this time.

I have made the ‘mistake’ of going to the Modern Scholar website. I didn’t spend much time there because it took only seconds to realize I had walked into a world filled with topics that peak my interest and I will want to have them all. Ok. Maybe not all, but enough of them that I will not make it through the audiobooks I already have downloaded to listen to. There are so many things I want to learn about, that grab my attention with too much ease as to be distracting. I only wish I had stumbled into this readily available method of learning much sooner than I did. Who knows what I’d be learning now!!

One of the things I think I love the best about this method of learning is I can allow what I’m learning currently (whatever that may be) to take me in whatever direction I want. As I listen to one audiobook, it may provide some information about a topic that causes me to want to know more about it. All I have to do then is find audiobooks on that subject. On the flip-side, if I am listening to an audiobook and I come to realize it doesn’t really interest me at all, I have no obligation to continue with the subject. I’m willing to finish those audiobooks because one never knows what it might spark in my mind. I can’t wait to look back a year from now and see the path I have created. Should be interesting.

My next paycheck is a good one. We have really been working our butts off. As much as it taps the physical resources, I am grateful for the amount of work. It is making it possible for me to get the kids something for Christmas this year and not have to figure out how I’m going to pay rent, keep up with bills, keep the family fed. The kids are each getting one present from me, but that is more than I could do last year. The Christmas before last, my very dear friend, and her family, bought gifts for our family. My love tank has never been so full. Last year, we were just grateful to have a place to call home, a place for our little gypsy camp.

This year, I think finances are a bit tight for my dear friend. I want so desperately to be able to do for her as she did for my family a couple of Christmas’ back. I know that if I can figure out a way to make it happen, I am going to do something for her and her kids. She has little ones, so being in a position of not being able to give them a Christmas in the fashion you have always done for them can be heartbreaking. Hell. It was heartbreaking the first Christmas I had to tell my kids they were only getting on present from me and Lance, and they were past the age of Christmas just being something magical with the presence of gifts. I don’t know if she feels this way, but it made me feel as if I had failed my kids somehow. She is an amazing mom, from what I can see, and I really pray she doesn’t feel as if she failed her kids. Nothing could be further from the truth, in my opinion. If anyone feels drawn to help provide some stuffs for her family, feel free to hit the donate button on the side of my blog.

Well, my fingers are cold to the point of growing stiff. I tried a pair of gloves that are here but that made typing a slow chore as it causes each keystroke to hit multiple keys. They are work gloves with rubberized palms and fingers so I was hoping for more than was possible with them. Oh well. I think I’ve rambled on enough for one post. Have a great day out there, Everyone!!

About dragonflygypsyusa

Over-thinker with way too much availability to the internet to research whatever might come to mind, amateur photographer, dog enthusiast, learning every day, working on finding my undamaged self.
This entry was posted in Left foot, right foot, repeat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go ahead...I'm listening

