Melt down, Cleaning To-Do List, Pumpkin…

My hands hurt so much! My finger tips are raw. We had two cleans up in Seattle yesterday and the second clean, a two bedroom, two bath condo, was the worst. What should have been a simple 3 hour, 4 hour max, clean took 7 hours. We got home at just after midnight last night.

I’m not proud to say that at around 8 o’clock, I had a melt down. I had just spent the past 4 hours cleaning the oven and inside of the fridge. I was frustrated by that since I could not get the inside of the oven completely clean. Then I pulled out the fridge.

What was revealed under the fridge was an assortment of magnets and kids toys, along with a thick layer of dead dust bunnies soaked with grease and other sticky stuff. This layer of what felt like the boneless, half-decayed carcasses of unknown rodents (or at least what I imagine that would feel like) that could have easily hosted seeds that more than likely would have sprouted, should anyone have been inclined to toss some seed into the mix, was more than my tired self could deal with at the moment.

My fingers, not yet raw, were tender from the scrubbing of the oven and under to cooktop. I had made it through the fridge and had gained a sense of relief that turned out to be completely unwarranted. You see, I always start with the oven and fridge because they  are the most time-consuming part of the kitchen. Once they are done, then its just the work of sweeping out and mopping under the fridge, wiping down the inside and outside of cabinets, counters, the dishwasher, and the kitchen sink, then sweeping and mopping the kitchen floor – the easier parts. Seeing the grossness under the fridge immediately gave me the intuitive notion that the cabinets were going to be a bear – and it wasn’t wrong – and I came unglued. I just wanted to go home.

I texted Cayle and let him know the situation, that the budget was not right for this clean (yes, we have those conversations, openly), and that I just wanted to go home. He tried to get a hold of the agent to try to rearrange coming back to finish the clean but had no success. He couldn’t reach the agent.

Each cabinet was worse than the one before it – grease build up, finger prints, sticky-gooey whatever, other types of marks requiring the use of a Magic Eraser, items left behind by the tenant. Each successive cabinet made my fingers more tender until they finally were raw and bruised from pressing my fingertips into the corners of everything to get every last crumb, every bit of grease, and every mark and finger print. By the time it came to scrubbing the sink, it took shear will power to push through the pain in my hands and fingers to really get it clean. I do not feel the sink got the proper scrubbing, my normal level of scrubbing. It looked good, and it will pass, but I don’t like not being confident in my clean.

After last night’s clean, I am going to put a plea out there to all of you in behalf of whoever may be doing a move out clean of your place should you move or leave your residence for some other reason. When cleaning your home, or at least every 2-3 months, there are certain “extras” that should be thrown into the cleaning ritual. I’ve put together a list.

  1. When cleaning the kitchen, pull out your fridge. You’ll be amazed at the things your find under there. If your fridge sits next to a counter, this is also a great time to wipe down the sides of the cupboards that are usually unseen because the fridge hides them.
  2. Also, when cleaning the kitchen, pull out and remove the drawer under the oven. There is usually a treasure trove of things under there, though it usually consists of food stuffs.
  3. Take a peak at the underside of your upper cupboards. Grease likes to collect there, along with anything else that may have splashed on the countertop (if it splashes on the counter, chances are it made it to the underside of the upper cupboards).
  4. Lift up the cooktop. If you have a glass range, then this does not apply to you. If you don’t, take a peak but be warned: if you never have lifted this up you may be astounded, and maybe a little scared, at what you see under there. The cooktop opens up in car hood fashion. Wipe down the sides and edges of the cooktop and the now exposed edge of the counter. If you’re feeling really ambitious, pull the entire stove out from the counter so you can clean the sides of it and the side panels of the cabinets on both sides of the stove.
  5. Whether you have a microwave/range hood or just a range hood, take a peak at the underside of that. Grease collects here in the form of budding stalactites and the longer they reside there, the more difficult they are to remove.
  6. Pull out the washer and dryer. This area can also be a treasure trove of miscellaneous lost items and clothing. Dust bunnies are born here.
  7. Open up your dishwasher and wipe down all the areas of the door and where the door closes against the washer itself. It’s a good idea to look under the bottom rack…this is where things collect that might not make it through the filter to the drain. If your dishwasher has an odor to it, this is most likely where you’ll find the culprit.
  8. When’s the last time you looked behind your toilet?
  9. Though this can be a bit time-consuming, taking the items out of your cupboards and wiping down the insides every few months is a good idea. Not only does it keep the messes to a minimal, this will help keep bacteria to a minimum and could potentially let you know when the corn syrup bottle  has gotten knocked over, is leaking slowly all over the shelf, soaking into the bag of flour, box of corn starch, or other things.
  10. Window tracks. This area collects dust, dirt, lint and the carcasses of flies that couldn’t figure out how to make it through that glass to outside. Vacuum with the on-board attachments then wipe with a damp rag or paper towel. A damp Magic Eraser works well for this, too.

Though this list is not all-inclusive, the items on it are the ones sticking out for me most today. Feel free to leave a comment with your cleaning tips. Everything is always appreciated.

I never did get to finish carving my pumpkin. Time just didn’t allow for it. I’m a little bit disappointed by this since this is the first pumpkin I’ve gotten in years. Its ok, though. I’m looking at this as a baby step in the right direction. I bought the pumpkin, started the carving; I was in the moment. Next year’s goal: finish carving the pumpkin and have it all light up for Halloween night. We kept some of the seeds to plant this coming garden season so we may just have a carved pumpkin scene on display. Guess we will see next year. 🙂

 

About dragonflygypsyusa

Over-thinker with way too much availability to the internet to research whatever might come to mind, amateur photographer, dog enthusiast, learning every day, working on finding my undamaged self.
This entry was posted in Left foot, right foot, repeat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Melt down, Cleaning To-Do List, Pumpkin…

  1. mrscruz81 says:

    Amen to the kitchen plea!!!
    I do hear you on that one. I usually do that every other month; therefore it’s time for me to do that cleaning again lol.
    I hope you’ll have a good Sunday and get some extra quiet time. I been cleaning all day so far lol

    Like

  2. mommyx4boys says:

    We just finished moving and cleaned everything, however we had to leave behind everything that was in our building because of massive bees nests, which our landlord was supposed to have an exterminator take care of in the beginning of summer.

    Like

Go ahead...I'm listening

