Focusing on the Positive, A-Z; Day 8: Honesty

Dishonest people conceal their faults from themselves as well as others, honest people know and confess them.   Christian Nevell Bovee

Honesty

: the quality of being fair and truthful : the quality of being honest

1
obsolete :  chastity
2
a :  fairness and straightforwardness of conduct

b :  adherence to the facts :  sincerity

3
:  any of a genus (Lunaria) of European herbs of the mustard family with toothed leaves and flat disk-shaped siliques
Honesty…I believe honesty is a quality admired by most of the population. It’s an enviable quality that embodies a centered, confident person, in my opinion. At least, whenever I’ve met someone who has honesty as the foundation of all of their actions and words, I have felt as if this person held happiness and confidence in their grasp in a way few have figured out how to do. Though, I don’t believe that honesty is something one can hold; honesty holds you. Despite the peace and knowing that honesty can bring, it feels as if we live in a world that has pushed complete honesty to a back corner where it can be found only when absolutely necessary. Maybe I’m wrong.
I didn’t used to be someone who was very honest. It wasn’t that I strived to hide behind lies in order to construct a life or anything like that. I wasn’t honest with myself so there was no way I could have been honest with anyone else. I fudged lines. I lied to protect myself from uncomfortable situations. I lied to keep from having to deal with the unhappy feelings of another person, usually due to my own actions. The worst act of dishonesty I have committed in my life is the dishonesty I have had with myself.
honesty-quotes-1
I have learned to develop honesty in my life. I no longer lie to try to protect myself: I don’t feel the need to protect myself anymore. Lets change that. I don’t lie. I find no need to lie. My honesty shows up in being completely transparent in every situation. Sometimes, in challenging situations, I find the old habit trying to via for its old position, but I smoosh it with honesty.
I still have some dishonesty issues with myself, though it is dishonesty I see clearly. My life situation is not one I would have ever imagined myself in and have fuzzied out the edges of it to keep myself from striking into full on panic or frozen depression. I do make sure that I occasionally take the blur of the edges so I can look clearly at all that is my life. There is no way that I can find solutions for moving forward if I am not looking at the whole picture. These are brief looks, though. I know the life I’m in is not the one I want, or anything near it. I can be honest with myself about that much.
Have you ever done a gratitude list? It required being honest with one’s self. In my gratitude lists, I acknowledge the strengths in my situation, which usually looks like pointing out the positive of what is in it as opposed to how much worse it could be. This is an area where I am cautiously taking baby steps.
One of the best things I love about being honest is never having to pretend to be something I’m not. I never have to try to remember the story line. I am trusted. Others have faith in what I say and do. This is another way that no one ever needs to wonder where they stand with me or what I am up to because it is clear in my words and deeds.
How is honesty represented in your life? What areas do you wish you were more honest in? I’d really love to hear some feedback on this.
About dragonflygypsyusa

Over-thinker with way too much availability to the internet to research whatever might come to mind, amateur photographer, dog enthusiast, learning every day, working on finding my undamaged self.
This entry was posted in Focusing on the Positive and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Focusing on the Positive, A-Z; Day 8: Honesty

  1. Lauren Baca says:

    I wish i could be honest to my parents about a lot of things but I don ‘t want them to look at me differently . Heck I wish I could be honest to myself about a lot of things but I don’t know how I guess you could say I ‘m afraid

    Like

    • Honey, your parents love you and will no matter what. As for being honest with yourself, your heart knows the truth, the rest is just clutter. Start recognizing the clutter for what it is: not important and distraction from your truth. ❤

      Like

Go ahead...I'm listening

